what is on the teas test

what is on the teas test

What Is The TExES Test?

The TExES test, or The Texas Examinations of Educator Standards, is a test for anyone seeking to become a teacher in Texas. It is reported by the State Board for Educator Certification and administered by Educational Testing Service (ETS). The TExES test is made up of multiple subject tests to help measure the competency of the aspiring teacher in the subject they wish to teach. Passing scores on the TExES vary by test and are established by the State Board.

TExES Subject Tests

The TExES is made up of ten subject tests:

  • Core Subjects EC-6
    • English Language Arts and Reading (231)
    • Mathematics (235)
    • Social Studies (232)
    • Science (236)

  • Generalist EC-6
    • EC-6 Generalist (291)
    • EC-6 Bilingual Generalist (292)

  • Secondary (Grades 7-12)
    • English Language Arts and Reading (englush 161)
    • Mathematics (math 171)
    • Social Studies (social studies 231)
    • Science (science 111)
    • Six subject areas tests for Agriscience, Business & Business Education, Criminal Justice, Dance, Technology Applications, Theater Arts and more.

  • Special Subjects (Grades PK-6)
    • Art (234)
    • Health Science Technology Education (274)
    • Physical Education (233)
    • Special Education (291)

TExES Preparation

For aspiring teachers that are preparing for the TExES, the Texas Education Agency offers free online tutorial sessions and practice tests. Additionally, many reputable companies offer online review courses and study materials designed to help aspiring teachers prepare for their TExES tests.


More Blog